Box Press

Catholicsmoker

Young Chimp
Hello,

Please excuse my being a cigar noob, since I am more of a pipe smoker, but I am wondering if there is a benefit or a down side to cigars being "Box Pressed." I was reading something or listening to a review about a type of cigar on YouTube and they specified that it was box pressed. Can somebody please solve this mystery for me. Thanks.

-CS

I'm a newb as well but I don't believe there is anything different about a box-pressed cigar other than the aesthetic. It just looks different because instead of having the normal cigar's round shape, a box-pressed cigar has squared off edges. The box-pressed cigar gets its shape from the 'box' (block) it sits in after being rolled.

Some traditionalists don't like box-pressed cigars just because of the way it looks. They prefer round cigars. I myself like the box-pressed. Padron 1964 being my favorite. I have yet to smoke my 1926 which is the same shape.

^^^ He's right, it's just aesthetic. It's supposedly also harder to make a box pressed, well... from what I've read. Other than that there is no gain or drawback to it.

Rev.

I happen to like the box press. Feels good in the hand and looks nice.No difference in flavor or burn in my opinion.

Box Pressed Cigars are great when your golfing. They don't roll off the tee box markers when you set it down to hit.:ss

You'll also hear things like box pressing fixes small imperfections and blah blah but really it's personal preference. Maybe it does, who knows.

I'm a newb as well but I don't believe there is anything different about a box-pressed cigar other than the aesthetic. It just looks different because instead of having the normal cigar's round shape, a box-pressed cigar has squared off edges. The box-pressed cigar gets its shape from the 'box' (block) it sits in after being rolled.