Life of the Mind; Life of the Leaf...

The Professor

Cruisin' on the 405.
In August 1999, I arrived in Bloomington, Indiana (after spending my whole life in western Washington state), for graduate school. On the first day of orientation, the director of graduate studies gave an impassioned speech about "the life of the mind" as it related to our studies and the profession into which we had all implicitly chosen to enter. I left my friends and family thousands of miles away because of the passion I had for intellectual inquiry, the study of public discourse, research, and the like. Years later -- as I'm in my first year of a professorship at a dream school of mine -- that same basic passion for my work still animates me.

As I sat here trying to think of something pithy and humorous to say for my first blog entry -- and procrastinating, I might add, from finishing my course prep for tomorrow -- I started coming to an appreciation of how much the "life of the leaf" has become another strong, motivating passion in my life.

I smoke cigars for three main reasons:
  1. They taste good.
  2. They're interesting.
  3. They cultivate friendships.
Together, these things encompass the "life of the leaf" for me; and I want to briefly address them in order.

First, there's a certain hedonistic aspect to the life of the leaf that's appealing. We smoke cigars because they taste good. I like that. It's simple, it's rooted purely in pleasure. Sometimes (often times, for many of us), it's a slippery slope in which we occasionally allow ourselves to get lost. As the saying goes, nothing exceeds like excess. :D