Buying a Large Capacity Humidor

emgjet

ChestBeater
Hello everyone! Just needed some feedback and info about a Large capacity Glasstop Humidor that I was thinking about purchasing. It's called the "Vicksburg or Gettysberg" which supposingly has a 300+ cigar count capacity:

http://www.bargainhumidors.com/itemdetail.asp?SKU=HUM-BH2

What's the best kind of humidifier f0r this Humi? The company offers the smaller Oasis humidifier as a package deal, but that device has only a 150+ cigar capability. Any suggestions for better humidification for this Large Humidor? Does anyone own one of these Humi's? Any feedback would be appreciated...thanks.
Ed :)

emgjet,

Nice looking humidor. I have no experience with that particular box or the Bargain Humidors company, but I do own six larger sized humidors with passive humidification systems.

When you receive the humidor, check to see that the lid seals well. Drop the lid from about half way open. If the sound is wood hitting wood, then the seal is not too tight. Return the unit. If you hear a "whooomph" sound, like there is a cushion of air in the box, then the box seals adequately.

I recommend the Diamond Crown extra large humidifier for a box your size. I have 4 Diamond Crown humidifiers and they have all performed well for several years. Use distilled water only. Dee's Fine Cigars ( www.c-gar.com )has the best price.

Others might recommend the Cigar Oasis active humidifier, which is about twice the price, but you won't have to check the water level so often. I have no experience with the Cigar Oasis, but Bargain Humidors has the best price to my knowledge.

I used an active humidifier from Habitat Monitor (http://www.habitatmonitor.com/) in my 6' cabinet humidor. Bob Staebell uses the Habitat Monitor "set n forget" digital controls in his Aristocrat line of end table humidors.

... rjs

I have a 400 count and using the Cigar oasis. It works great!!!!!