Cigar Rotation

Lamar

OCD FOG
I have found that the cigars on the bottom of my humi seem to be better humidified than those on the top and I was wondering if I actually needed to rotate them. Is this a good idea? Is it one of those sorts of things that you should do like flossing, but you never seem to get around to it? How many of you guys (and gals) actually rotate your smokes?

[updated:LAST EDITED ON Feb-09-02 AT 11:32 AM (CDT)]I have also heard that you should rotate cigars, but I have no personal evidence that it is necessary. I have never actively rotated my cigars. I have on occasion moved some around as a stock depletes or I need to make more room. I have been storing cigars for well over 12 years at this point and keep several thousand on hand and have never needed to rotate them. I have seen no ill effects from cigars being in the bottom or top or middle or wherever. Of course this does assume that one has a decent humidor and is vigilant in it's maintenance. Also you should arrive at your own conclusions. If the cigars at the bottom of your humidor feel better humidified you may want to experiment with placement. I firmly believe that although humidity and temerature should be controlled reasonably well, cigars are not as fragile as many folks think. I also believe that the main reason some folks rotate their cigars is a somewhat obsessive desire to look at and handle their precious babies. Oops, wait a minute that sound like me! Hmmm. Maybe they do need to be.....

Thanks for the feedback. I really don't want to get into rotating my stock for fear of damaging the wrappers and my gut sence that cigars like to be left alone to age.

I tell ya what I do. Once a month I take out all of my cigars for inspection. Not only do I look for beetles, mold etc. but I also get to rotate them within each box. I also rotate my boxes but I haven't seen a problem so far as I am lucky enough to keep my humidity at a level that keeps mold from forming.