Combating High Humidity

TU09

Lowland Gorilla
I have been smoking cigars for a couple years but just recently bought a humidor and started buying in quantity. The past couple weeks I have noticed that the RH in my humidor has been around 70-72% without a credo having been in the box for about a month. Short of a wine cooler, what is the best way to bring down the humidity to around 65% given the high ambient humidity (I live in NOLA)?

Also, as punch listed in a recent post, both Cuban temperature and humidity is often considerably higher than what most people claim is appropriate to store cigars. How does this affect the cigars? What about beetles? :confused:

I'm probably just paranoid but I'm getting a little concerned as the temperatures and humidity down here work up to their summer levels. Thanks in advance for any help.

Last edited:
Temperature and humidity are bosom buddies. First, try to get the temperature down by moving your box to a central location of your house. Try that and call me in the morning.

Doc

Dr. Stogie Fresh said:
Temperature and humidity are bosom buddies. First, try to get the temperature down by moving your box to a central location of your house. Try that and call me in the morning.

Doc

I'm afraid I really can't move the humidor. I live in a very small space and don't have access to a basement. The temperature is going to have to remain around 75. Also, wouldn't decreasing the temperature but leaving everything else constant (including absolute moisture content) increase the RH?

TU09 said:
I have been smoking cigars for a couple years but just recently bought a humidor and started buying in quantity. The past couple weeks I have noticed that the RH in my humidor has been around 70-72% without a credo having been in the box for about a month. Short of a wine cooler, what is the best way to bring down the humidity to around 65% given the high ambient humidity (I live in NOLA)?