Couple of humidor questions for a newbie

Rev2010

Maturing Primate
Hi all. I'm new to cigars, only been smoking them since February and only about 1-2 a week. I bought a humidor a few weeks ago as I've started buying more at one time and didn't want them to dryout being I smoke infrequently. Anyhow, I've done a heck of a lot of reading on the net about cigars, humidors, etc and have seen some varied information so I figured it was time to find a forum to discuss. I have two main questions:

1. I only have 5 cigars in my box now (small glass top humi meant for up to 50 cigars) and I've read it's harder to keep proper humidity with a mostly empty box. With oly one humidifier (round puck type with internal foam and 50/50 solution) my Western Caliber III held at 68% humidity. I added a second puck filled only with distilled water and now it's holding steady at 69%. Is it true it's easier to mantain humidity with more cigars in the box? I find it odd that with two humidifiers in there and I'm still not exactly at 70% (but yeah, I know it won't matter only one percent lower).

2. I'm having a very hard time trying to lower the temperature in my humidor, my temps have been around 75-76 degrees which I've read is a bit too high. But if I try to lower the temperature by putting the humi near an AC the humidity starts to drop so that's no good. I've tried different placements around the house but the darn thing seems to want to stay at 75-76°. Now I'm wondering what I'm going to have to deal with in winter. So, is there an easier way to drop the temperature without sacrificing humidity, and do I really run a high risk of tobacco beetles at this temp? (I don't have any Cubans, just Arturo Fuente, La Aurora, and Don Donato - local shop brand). Have any of you had beetles?