Gran Habano Corojo # 5 - 6.1" x 52

jkorp

·~«{·B'lieve Hon·}»~·
Here is my review of the Gran Habano Corojo # 5 - 6.1" x 52 (Red Label). I'll preface this review by saying that I am a newbie, both on the forum and to cigars period. So I don't have a well refined taste, or at least I am not able to describe the flavors and subtleties of a cigar accurately, but I do know what I like.

I purchased 10 Gran Habano's comprised of all 3 varieties, #1, #2, and #3's all in the 6.1x52 size. My local B&M had an event, buy 10 get 2 free and an entry into a nice Humidor drawing. (this is really the only reason why I purchased this many, because I really needed a humidor, and the one that was on raffle what sweeeeeet).

My first impressions of the cigars were, "I just wasted $40 dollars!" They wouldn't stay lit, I'm talking 6-5 relights, they required constant touch ups, and I was starting to get pissed off when I smoked one. The redeeming factor was they all tasted great, and looked incredible, especially the #3 Corojo. So I smoked about half with in a few days (being new to cigars I had no inventory so these were the only stogies I had to smoke). As I got my wine-chill-a-dor working and acquired some more smokes, I let let these rest. What a difference!

So Here is the review:

Wrapper: Dark and oily, very attractive
Hand Feel: nice weight, felt really good in my hand
Band: I like the band, others said they hated it and wouldn't give it a chance just based on this, but I think it's very nice, I like...
Construction: Nice and firm, clean
Draw: post cut and prelight, the draw was great. Post light and all the through the burn the draw was great.
Smoke: lots of it.
Burn: fairly even, more on that below.
Ash: Firm. Ashed twice, the first half and at the nub.

1004072004b_thumb.jpg
1004072004_thumb.jpg

And alas...

The Taste: The first couple of draws I would say there was a little spice.