Happy 80th to My Dad

gnukfu

Smokin and Jokin
My Dad would have been 80 years old today. He died when he was 49 (way too young). I never got a chance to really know him because I was a rebellious teenager in the 70's. I always looked up to him, however, but never told him because I was too "cool". He was in the Air Force, then worked and went to college, graduating from Providence College at the top of his class. He worked as an agent for the IRS - he was basically an accountant's accountant; a meticulous person. I went to college because of the example he set and he passed away 3 months before I got my degree in Chemical Engineering. It hurt not having him at my graduation. I'm 50 years old now but I still think of him every day. Happy Brithday Dad! :ss

I tried uploading some picture but they are in .tif format which photobucket and Club Stogie don't like so here are a couple of pictures of him in a friendlier format.

Airman of the Month in the Air Force
DadAirmanofTheMonth1952001.jpg

At home doing something in the yard
DadSummerof1957.jpg

To celebrate his birthday I'm lighting up this 80th anniversary for his 80th birthday!
DSCN0780.jpg

That's a great way to remember him, and a great tribute post...thank you for letting us all share this with you!

As a dad and having parent's in their 80s, it is good to see them still getting around and doing well. I lost my Dad 20 years ago this past October. Mom and my Mother-In-Law are both in their 80s and are doing well. As children and as parents we make lots of mistakes but our parents know in their heart that growing up is painful for both of us, both the child and the parent. I spoke with Mom just yesterday and she is real proud of her child and all of her grandchildren. Looks like we have come full circle. Looks to me like you Dad didn't do to bad in raising his son. Maybe he always knew that too. :2