Humidity question! Please help!!!!

I

INSSANE

OK. I have 17 or 18 cigars (I know, but I am a college student and have expensive taste in cigars:7 ). Anyways, I have them in a 100 ct. humidor and bought a digital humidity gauge. The humidity gauge always says between 34 and 39%!!!!! I have the cheezy humidifier that came with it and I bought another small one, but these do no good. I have very good cubans in there that are begining to dry out.

Do I just need a bigger humidifier? If so, what's a good (not the most expensive) recomendation?
What else could the problem be if that's not it!?!

Thanks for helping a newbie.
Nick

Insanne,

Try doing a salt test on your guage. These was a recent discussion topic on this that can be found in the archives. Are you using distilled water only or 50/50 mix?

TAK

Nick,

This question seems to come up quite often..first thing I would do is raise the number of cigars in the humidor..17-18 cigars in a 100 box is low..cigars help hold humidity. If you have only less than 25% of it full, the humidity is not going to hold as well. Did you season the humi properly & calibrate the hygrometer properly? I suggest buying a bundle of cigars like La Unicas that don't cost a lot of $$ and are a relatively good smoke, just to help keep the RH up..Also, check and make sure the humi is sealing tight..take and put a flashlight in the box & close it. If you see any light pouring out of the edges, the seal isn't tight. Most likely though, I would start by re-seasoning the humi & then adding more cigars.

Also, check the archives..this discussion has been brought up many many times..

-Justin