Le Fumoir - My Smoking Room

tfar

Evolving Lead Gorilla
I am quite new to this great community (check out my newbie intro if you feel like it here http://www.clubstogie.com/vb/showthread.php?t=127675 ). And I have already learned a lot. Thanks everybody! In order to keep up with the BOTLs and SOTLs here and because Austin climate gets really hot in the summer when I am not here a wine fridge as humidor seemed like what I needed. After checking prices for the Eurocave ($3800) I decided this was not in my budget. So I got a Vinotemp and want to use the opportunity to show off my smoking room.

I'm an art historian, curator and collector, which explains all the art in the room including the twisted mini-blind installation. Now, I call this my smoking room because it has all the accoutrements of a traditional fumoir: big arm chairs, small table, bar, humidors, books, music and games. While I really do smoke in there, it is practically my living room since in the real living room there is no furniture. There are only paintings. So this is a bit extreme for some but it works for me.

I love this room and am naturally proud of it. Since I know y’all are always looking for inspiration for your own smoking rooms and can certainly give me suggestions for mine, here are some pics.

The first picture shows the view from the French doors into the room. On the right hand side is the stereo and the humidors and tobacco shelf. On the left side are the bar and the Vinotemp.

The second picture shows my fat chair. On the floor next to it is a handmade leather book with drawing implements. When I have an artist over I usually ask them to make me a little drawing in there; practically an artist guest book. The little lamp on the table is quite powerful and ideal to cut cigars and clean pipes under.

The third picture shows the Vassily chair and the Vinotemp. Next to it you see some of my bottles and a bunch of ash trays sitting on top ready to be used.