Marketing-Merchandising-Packaging.

JaKaAch

HopenchangeHopenchange
At the KC Herf Saturday AlanB noticed a CAO in a gold aluminum tubo and made a comment about packaging and the cost.
I know when I was a total newb and making my first trips into B&M's with big walk-in humidors that the fancy bands, boxes, and tubos caught my eye, and influenced my purchases.

Does this packaging still influence your decision making?
Or is this a newbie only phenomenon?

I know one of the first cigars that caught my eye, presentation wise, was the HdM Dark Sumatra. The black and gold bands, cedar sleeve, nice looking box made me want to try one. I'm glad I did, I really like them.
But after joining CS I am now mostly influenced by recommendations and reviews here and could care less about the "package".

What was your first cigar that you bought mainly because of the packaging? And did you like it or was it a let down?

Last edited:
I can honestly say the packaging was a very big draw at first. Before I found the wealth of information here I was strictly going by packaging. I assumed that a company that spent more time in the detail was really trying to showcase their product.

Even today if I am in my local B&M and I see something I have never heard of but "looks" good I will at least give it a shot. Then again being new to cigars I am giving a lot of cigars a shot trying to find what I like...LOL

I've worked in sales and done my fair share of market research and other things marketing, so I've never been one to buy because of the bright, shiny, and colorful (or large breasted for that matter). Presently, I smoke montes and Padrons, so even now, the simple and classic are my preference.

I've been smoking for a long time and I am a total sucker for flashy packaging,,

Jerry in Minnesota.