Mr. Doug's $25-ish Coolidor

Mr. Doug

Gorilla
So I got a few boxes in the other day and needed a place to stash them until I could get my coolidor properly humidified. So I thought I'd take a stab at this real quick...

Stop me if you think I'm doing something wrong, or if I'm goingt o ruin my boxes please...I'm pretty new at this and only know what I've seen on the net.

Here's the 'ingredients'
$9.00 Igloo cooler from Costco.
$7.00 Humidity Meter from Wal-Mart
$2.00 Baby Food Containers (that the baby already finished...so I guess $0.00)
$0.75 Airwick Fan Thingy
$8.00 Cedar Planks for wire shelving
$1.25 Spongy plant stuff

SS_Img3975.jpg

The first thing I did was clean out the baby food containers in the dishwasher, and then with a mild soap, and then with distilled water. I didn't want to have any hint of "Banana Mixed Berry" in my boxes.

SS_Img3980.jpg

Then I cut a few slits in the top of the lid with my Dremel so the contents can breathe. Above, you'll see the styrofoam Gentle Grip spongy stuff that I used to hold the moisture for a few days until my 65% beads arrive.

SS_Img3983.jpg

Then I cut the aforementioned plant styrofoam to the size of the Gerber containers, and filled them with distilled water to soak up for an hour. I punched a few holes in them so they'd have room to blow air bubbles up. I'm not entirely sure this is necessary, but I can't see it HURTING the cause. (Unless the plant stuff does that on it's own.

SS_Img3987.jpg

Next, I modified the Springfield Digital Humidity / Temperature Monitor to remove the back clip, and add a few more slits in it for better venting. I'll add velcro to this later...I wanted to make sure it all worked first, and I'm not sure this will be the cooler I'll ultimately use.

SS_Img3988.jpg