New Vinotemps Set-up!

mtb996

Gorilla
Well, I have finally broken down and decided to go down the Vinotemp route. The wife was getting real sick of the huge cooler sitting on the floor of the office. She wanted it moved upstairs into the bonus room, but it is hotter up there, hence...Vinotemp time. My biggest fear is the overflowing 165qt cooler and will it all fit?????

Current 165qt cooler.
cooler.jpg

So, after getting the Vinotemps, I studied the sticky in this forum as well as several other posts! THANKS for the great info on here:tu

I pulled the drain (big pain in the a$$ by the way - basically pulled the drain out using pliers from both inside and outside the vino). I am using a PC fan in each unit, powered by a 6V DC power supply (I'm a pack rat and have a few of these laying around the house). I found that this voltage, with these fans work best. Using 9V or 12V seemed like way too much airflow, but we'll see once its loaded. I can always just change out the power supply later.

After running the wires for the fan, I siliconed the hole. I also made a drain catch just like the sticky post to catch any residual moisture. I mounted the fan on one of the wire shelves with it blowing upward.

bottomshelf.jpg

Also, I am using a simple timer to run the fan 15 minutes every 2 hours.

timer.jpg

I bought some cedar planks from woodcraft (for way too much money!). I tried to find some locally, but while their BF price was lower, they only had 1" and 2" boards. So, bought some 1/4 and 3/8 boards from woodcraft and made shelves. I really wanted to make the cool slots, but I do not have a router, so I made simple holes. I will make final placement on the shelves once I get my beads (should arrive early next week) and the Vino stabilizes and I start putting in the boxes.

frontopen.jpg