Newbie + Coolidor

JohnDoe

Young Chimp
Hi guys. This is my first post here but I have been reading a lot.

I have just got into "smoking" cigars and have never smoked anything before. Anyway, since this isn't an introduction thread, I would like to ask your opinion on the Coolidor that I would like to build.

I will smoke maybe 2-3 cigars/month and would like to store about 200-250..

I am a student and live in a small apartment so space is an issue. I would like to get ~$28qt cooler, what do you think?

Particularly, this one http://www.amazon.com/Coleman-28-Qt...2?ie=UTF8&s=home-garden&qid=1221471094&sr=8-2

What do you guys think of it? I know seal is the most important thing so I want to make sure that it is good...

I also plan to get ~4 Cedar trays http://www.cheaphumidors.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=ch&Product_Code=TRAY

to store the cigrs in. Do you think they will fit (dimensions wise) into this coolidor? Furthermore, any opinions/suggestions? Thanks in advance guys.

while cedar trays are neat, you can probably save some money by picking up empty cigar boxes from a local B & M. The wood ones are almost always cedar, and they would probably give you the non-fancy boxes for free or really cheap. Plenty of ceday this way, and gives you some humidity swing protection. Only drawback is the lack of ability to see what's in which box. But that can be helped by taping an inventory sheet to each box lid.

Welcome,
Before you order a cooledor online I would check your local rite aid or wal mart, or the other big chain stores. They might have a coolodr on sale since they are getting out of season now.