Puro Indios Viejo

Avyer

Young Ape
While I am new to cigars all the ones I've tried have been good till now.

This Viejo had been resting since march and due to it's larger size ( I had the 6.5) I figured I'd burn it up to make room as my humi is pretty full. I couldn't make it past an inch. The constuction is the worst I've seen yet. Wrapper felt like it was falling off even before I cut the cap. The draw was like a drinking straw, not something I've come to like, I like a bit of resistence in the draw. I figured I'd push on, toasted the foot and lit.

First puff was a bit bitter, but I'd figure it would settle down. I had a RyL Cedro #2 start out a bit bitter yesterday, but it settled and was great. This Puros was not like my smoke yesterday. It did not settle, and instead a sweetness came over and tasted like it was trying to smother the bitterness. (if that makes any since) I purged it and let it rest for a minute, and tried once agian. The purging had gotten rid of the sweetness, but the bitterness persisted. I couldn't make it to the second 1/3 to see if it was going to get better or not. The only thing I can correlate this smoke to is when I was a dumb kid running around rolling random leaves and lighting those up.

I know this isn't much of a "real" review, but I was just so disgusted by it I had to share.

MAn I hate to hear it. For some reason I am always looking to give PI the benefit of the doubt. I have not had great experiences. I know it is a Cigar Aficionado, but the Feb issue gave the Viejo Churchill an 89 rating. Oh BTW, equal to the Tatuaje Reserva churchill which also got an 89 in the same issue :r. I picked up two Viejo Churchills back in March. I hope my experience is a little better.

SIS (Sorry it Sucked),

BillyBarue

it is one of my favorite smokes. it's really an acquired the taste. the viejo has some pretty unique flavors that they take a while to appreciate. It is a pretty complex and rich smoke.