Smoking Room

RedBaron

Lowland Gorilla
So somehow the cigar aliens stopped by my house also and rewired my girlfriend. We are looking at new houses and she has decided to let me turn one room into a smiking room, as long as I research and put in the proper ventilation system (or have it put in), also it has to have a door that seals so smoke doesn't stink up the house. So besides nominating her for girlfriend of the year, I would like to know if anyone else has converted a room into a smoking lounge/room. My plan is to build a humidor into a closet and glass it off, but was curious if I should rip carpet out and put pergo down. Any ideas?

I will hopefully be in the same situation in a few months. I am going to be house hunting and one think I will look for is a room that can be converted into a lounge. It will have a bar, dark harwood floors, Leather Chairs, and maybe even a big ass Plasma on the wall!!

I will look forward to the replies as well!!!

I have no personal experience in the matter, but going from any cigar lounges i've seen i'd say ripping out the carpet and replacing it with something like hardwood is the way to go. Carpet will hold the stale cigar smell, wood floors won't.

You also must, of course, install an obscenely large cabinet humidor ;) :w

I worked in a research MRI suite over the summer and they had a Linden airtight door that automatically sealed when closed.... but i think that's overkill since it was also magnetically shielded and RF-proof.

Is a humidor in a smoking room a good idea? Wouldn't the smoke contaminate the cigars in the humidor or even the cedar?

I screwed up! I just bought a house and I'm trying to figure out where the hell I'm gonna smoke:confused: It'll probably be in the garage or on the porch. Damn cold in the winter:cool:

I think in a properly ventilated room, the smoke would not be an issue for the stored cigars, but once again I could be wrong.

RedBaron said: