Where the flavor comes from?

levell3

ChestBeater
I am in a quandary, we all know that nowadays everybody wants their cigars to be dark and oily but my question is how much does the wrapper really impart flavor-wise? I am sure a nice looking wrapper gives a good psychological impression of how the cigar "should" smoke and taste but does it truly make that much of difference? I have had plenty of ugly looking smokes that tasted great. Is it the opposite of the old adage you do judge a book by its cover? Me personally I would think that the binder and filler would be the main contributing factors in flavor since it is the majority of the cigar.

I'm no expert, but here's my very recent experience with some Puros Indios #4 Especiales. I had tried a couple of these with the Maduro wrapper and enjoyed them very much. Recently bought a box of Colorado Claro because that's all JR had available at the time. Don't like them. Just got a box of Maduro PI #4s from OPT, and they're as good as I remembered from before. I don't know for certain if the only difference between the Colorado Claro and Maduro PI #4s is the wrapper. If it is the case, then I'd have to say it makes a huge difference. But I wouldn't say the wrapper has to be "pretty." I'm a big fan of ERdM Robusto Largas, and those wrappers frequently look veiny, but damn they're tasty smokes.

This is a statement I cut from a thread over at CF posted by Carlito himself. I found it interesting thats for sure. Take a look at the whole thread in the fine cigar room under "short story falls short."