Can a cigar age too much?

hEmInGwAy_88

Young Chimp
I have heard from some people that when a cigars wrapper begins to get spots on it it is no good... i dont know how official that statement is..... also is it possible that a cigar can be aged too much in a humidor?? im very new at the cigar hobby so im just trying to learn

I haven't experienced this, but I would guess yes. Wine and beer both have peaks in their aging. After this peak is reached, the quality deteriorates. Being that these are natural products and cigars are natural products this would make sense. I have read posts on CS regarding cigars losing flavors or becoming bland with age. I'm sure someone with experience will chime in....I hope so because this is just my guess.

the only "spots" I know of are naturally occurring leaf variances, water bleached spots (also harmless) and fuzzy spots, aka mold. Mold is bad but has nothing to do with age, everything to do with humidity

some cigars go a bit flat with age and all respond differently to aging. 20-30 seems to be nothing for a cigar that ages well, general rule stronger cigars smooth out nice, that about all *I* know for sure

I've never heard of a wrapper getting spots from age alone, but in general you can expect a cigar to diminish in strength as it gets older. The up side is that they tend to get more subtle as well.

I have some Camachos from 2001 that are pale shadows of what they used to be in terms of strength and body, but there's a delicate sweet spiciness to them that I've never tasted in any Camacho before. For most Camacho lovers the loss of body and strength would definitely mean these were past their prime, but I like to think of them as being "different."

And then there are those folks who like 40 year old Habanos... :hn