Zippos and stogies?

Wolfgang8810

SilverBack
Ive heard that zippos shouldnt be used in to light up a stogies. What is you alls take on this? I know its ok to use with pipes if you let it burn for a few secconds to get rid of the chemical taste. Sugguestions and comments are greatly appreciated.

MArk

Someone tried to get me to do this over the weekend, and I refused. From what I have been told, zippos (because they use gas and not refined butane) will leave a taste no matter how long you let it burn - it is a factor not of the initial burst but of the fuel that is actually burning. I've never tried it, but I always go for at least a bic, but usually a Xikar torch. My :2

I think the fuel itself is what will cause the odor/flavor change. I have no experience with pipes, but with cigars it is highly frowned upon because of this. Butane torches burn clean (as far as odor) which is why they are favored. Wood matches (once you can get past the sulfur) are considered second (OK, first w/ some I would assume) or lighting cedar strips, as the odor is a good thing in that case.

Hope this helps...been smoking for a while but certainly nothing to compare w/ some of the BOTLs out there!

:ss

depends on how anal you want to get-zippo's new fuel has less odor than the original-after letting it burn for a few seconds, i don't mind it-i usually use a torch though since they light quicker

I recommend the Z insert by Blazer. It's a nice insert so you can keep the nostalgia you get with a Zippo. :tu

i personaly use the new Zippo Blu, colibri firebird, or my sippo with the Zflame insert for lighting cigars i was just wondering what the take on it is here on CS. Ive never used a oil burning zippo for any cigar. Please dont frown on the new kid for asking questions lol j/k